married to the weekend

Motion City Soundtrack has never done me wrong, and their latest release, My Dinosaur Life, is no exception. I got to know MCS as a live band, benefiting from going to college just a few hours from their home base of Minneapolis, MN. In the span of a couple years I saw them more times than I have fingers, booking them several times myself. The thing that always struck me when working with them was their clear joy for making music and performing, a feeling that comes through on My Dinosaur Life.

MCS gave itself a shot in the arm on MDL, ramping up considerably from the stripped-down Acoustic EP.  Though their songwriting has expanded and matured, My Dinosaur Life is closer to their debut release than anything else in their catalog. The songs are big and polished, but not bombastic or over-produced. The excellent track “Disappear” is an excellent example, encompassing the raw emotion of I Am the Movie‘s best songs with singer Justin Pierre’s delivery a pointing, accusatory finger in your face.

Don’t fret if MCS’s pared-down efforts are more your style; the album offers a mid-list breather with acoustics and hand-claps, and it lets off emotional steam with the wink-and-nod sing-along “@!#?@!” – a bouncy garage jaunt that politely invites interested parties to eff themselves. Don’t worry – the quintet hasn’t gotten bitter, they’ve just learned to put a spin on their smiles.

My Dinosaur Life drops 01/19/10.
Visit Motion City Soundtrack’s site for more info.

Leave a Reply

