it’s funny – we’re under the sign that says young adults…and romance.

On Wednesday, December 2nd, 2009, Dashboard Confessional stopped by Borders at Stonestown Galleria in San Francisco, CA to play a few hits.

SETLIST: Belle of the Boulevard, Vindicated, Stolen

Full Photo Album

are we as safe as we let ourselves believe?

For their fifth release – The Shade of Poison Trees – Dashboard Confessional takes the sound of previous release Dusk and Summer and strips it down.

Though recorded with a full band, the focus of the album is clearly on frontman Chris Carrabba and his acoustic guitar.

Though a couple of the tracks border on recycled (the opening chords for “Keep Watch For the Mines” immediately call to mind “Screaming Infidelities” and “Little Bombs” could have easily come off of the first two albums), Dashboard Confessional takes a few risks on the album and goes in a few new directions.

On “The Rush” Carrabba gets a little saucy, breathily delivering flirtatiously risqué lyrics in a lower register that gives way to his more typical shout and a bigger sound.

The electronic swells of the title track work extremely well, showing a promising direction for the band to explore. Echoing this is “The Widows Peak”, whose deep, sad piano has a beauty similar to that of Death Cab For Cutie.

The most interesting cut on the album is “Clean Breaks”. String accents and an off-kilter beat keep listeners on their toes while the lyrics reveal familiar anxieties often found in Carrabba’s lyrics.

A solid release, the songs are well-suited for Carrabba’s current solo tour.

The Shade of Poison Trees dropped 10/2/07.

Find more from Dashboard Confessional here.

listen up: fall asleep with your headphones on

Here is a new mixtape for your listening pleasure. It’s kind of a cheat as it’s 1.25 years old, but most of you have never heard it before. It’s called Fall Asleep With Your Headphones On and I made it for my friend Tim (though it is about someone else entirely). It is an excellent breakup playlist.

Fall Asleep With Your Headphones On
01| Death Cab for Cutie – Marching Bands of Manhattan
02| The Postal Service – Brand New Colony
03| Frou Frou – Let Go
04| Brand New – Jaws Theme Swimming
05| Matt Pond PA – The Summer Is Coming
06| Between the Buried and Me – Colorblind
07| The Honorary Title – Everything I Once Had
08| Dashboard Confessional – Remember to Breathe
09| Rocky Votolato – Suicide Medicine
10| Colin Hay – I Just Don’t Think That I’ll Ever Get Over You
11| Motion City Soundtrack – My Favorite Accident (acoustic)
12| Fall Out Boy – Nobody Puts Baby in the Corner (acoustic)
13| Saves the Day – Take Our Cars Now
14| Ted Leo – Since U Been Gone
15| Rhett Miller – Your Nervous Heart
16| Ben Lee – How To Survive A Broken Heart
17| The Beatles – You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away
18| Jamie Cullum – High & Dry
19| The Format – A Mess to Be Made
20| Dog’s Eye View – Umbrella

The file will continue to load and keep its place if paused.