songbook: there goes the fear

In M|H’s weekend feature, songbook, I’ll be looking at some of my favorite songs. Some I haven’t listened to in years, some I keep in regular rotation, but all having in some way informed my life, my taste, and and how I view music.

Doves – There Goes the Fear


(for the full-length album version, click here

There’s no tale of heartbreak, growth, or excitement to go with Doves’ “There Goes the Fear” – it’s just a damn fine song. In high school my family had satellite TV, so I had channels like MTV2 and MuchMusic to obsessively watch. During my senior year, I discovered the band Doves during one of the hundreds (thousands?) of hours I had a music channel playing in the background. This song stuck, and made it onto almost every mix/playlist I made for myself during my freshman year of college. I vividly remember one warm and sunny fall day sitting outside, headphones on, studying for a Spanish exam and this song coming on. I stopped, basked in the sun, and just thought about how happy I was. Things were good, this song was better. “There Goes the Fear” fell out of my regular rotation but has recently popped up quite a few times, reigniting my love. There goes the fear again. Let it go.

Leave a Reply

