songbook: holly hox, forget me nots

In M|H’s new weekend feature, songbook, I’ll be looking at some of my favorite songs. Some I haven’t listened to in years, some I keep in regular rotation, but all having in some way informed my life, my taste, and and how I view music.

Saves the Day – Holly Hox, Forget Me Nots

Though I’ve always been into music, late high school was when I really hit my stride. The perfect storm of getting my driver’s license and file sharing becoming rampant meant that I could check out bands both by going to see them and seeking them out online. I learned about Saves the Day by the tried and true method of reading their song lyrics in a friend’s AIM profile. The song turned out to be “Sell My Old Clothes, I’m Off to Heaven” – a song I instantly loved upon hearing and one that prompted me to get every song by STD I could find. The album that really sold me was Through Being Cool. I still love it just as much, if not more, as I did in high school. “Holly Hox” is my favorite song from the album, my favorite Saves the Day song overall, and in my top ten favorites of all time. There is a core group of people that I know will sing their hearts out with me whenever they hear it, and I can’t help but think of them and how much I love them whenever I hear it.

The first time I saw Saves the Day was the day after my 18th birthday, November 20th, 2001 at Crocodile Rock Cafe in Allentown, PA. Thursday was supposed to open, but they cancelled last minute. Saves the Day put on an amazing set, and the high point was hearing “Holly Hox” for the first time. For a few years, Saves the Day kept the song off their set list, breaking my heart every time. A few years ago, though, they worked it back in and all was right with the world. I really don’t think I’ll ever tire of this song. I completely anticipate hobbling around the nursing home in the sunset of my life, pleading with Mr. Hox to tell his daughter that I’m all alone and not handling it well.

One thought on “songbook: holly hox, forget me nots

Leave a Reply

