i bet they really like radiohead

I’m mildly obsessed with the video for “Special” by Mew. I know I’m a bit behind the times, I think it came out as a single in 2005, but I just saw it for the first time about a month ago.

The song itself is great; angelic vocals over weird chord progressions in the chorus and the use of triplets so rarely used in pop music make it interesting to listen to. There’s also a smack of (old) Depeche Mode to it that I can’t exactly place.

What initially drew me to this, though, was the video. Shot in black and white, there are few semi-slow motion scenes that are, let’s face it, directly ripping off Radiohead’s video for “Street Spirit”. It still looks cool, so I’m not going to complain. My favorite part of it all is the awesomely awkward dancing of the two actors – one a Twiggy knockoff and the other a professor who probably sleeps with a student or two every semester. Or at least I’d have to assume that’s who they’re supposed to be considering their appearances. The video ends up being compelling because these two kids actually seem like they’ve got something between them.

You can see if you agree by watching it below:

3 thoughts on “i bet they really like radiohead

  1. Val February 3, 2007 / 9:55 am

  2. stacey February 3, 2007 / 2:36 pm

    haha, um..thanks val? i didn’t think my hair was that bad.

Leave a Reply

